Easy Peasy, revisited.

Easy Peasy All In One Homeschool is a fantastic curriculum, and we have loved using it in the past.  It’s just not as easy peasy or as fun as it used to be.

ep

Easy Peasy has introduced a new way to manage their website called “My EP Assignments”. In theory it looks fantastic, but in practice it’s a real pain in the you-know-what. I have to log in, then Peanut clicks his name and it brings up his schedule. So far so good. He opens up the first subject by clicking on the lesson number. He does the lesson, and usually the next one too. then he closes the open tab and clicks on the needs work button. Now he clicks the check-mark. Because he usually did more, he clicks again, and again, and again. Suddenly he’s done 20 or so lessons in one day, oops. Now I need to find out what he did, and because there’s no easy way to get to the parent screen, I have to log him out, log back in, log me in, change it, save it, and log out again. Wash rinse and repeat daily, sometimes several times a day. Oh, and sometimes he closes his schedule, I have to log him back in again with my email and password. It’s a little more than frustrating. I like click and go stuff.

ep2

So we just forgo the my ep assignments and use it by choosing the courses manually and doing the ctr-f function to find what day we’re on just like before. Much easier. I miss the old setup with grade levels and years though.

Still, this is not the worse, and it’s through no fault of their own, but it all comes down to the ending of flash. With the loss of all those phenomenal flash games and websites, comes a lot less fun and games and a lot more reading and “boring games” as Peanut calls them.  Take a look at history – ancient day 2 for level 1-4 – and you will understand why me and Peanut said “NO”! It used to lead to a website that was almost like reading a book, it was rich with pictures and written in easy to read text for young ones. That website unfortunately shut down. With nothing else seemingly comparable, Lee did what she could. Still, it’s not for us anymore.

I know Lee and her team are working hard to find alternatives, and I hope in the future those flash sites will convert to something else that is just as fun. But last year Peanut was looking forward to all the cool games again, and now they are mostly a lot of “read this” or “watch this” type of learning. My Peanut has completely lost interest, and so have I.  It reminds me of Discovery K-12 now. And I really dislike Discovery K-12.

I had to re-evaluate and with a heavy heart, I decided until the sites that use Flash for their games etc, we needed to find another curriculum. Easy Peasy just was becoming a source of frustration. There are still a few things I may use, like the drawing and painting, but overall it’s just not for us anymore, at least not right now.

I hope in the future that changes, because I really loved Easy Peasy before all these changes happened.

 

Leave a comment