Keeping my hands busy on my week off!

This past week was our break, and the rain kept falling. The chill in the air was nice, but never really lasted long. Once the sun peeked through, it was stinking hot again.

After tidying the house a bit, Peanut played Minecraft, watched power rangers, and some you tube videos (his favorite ones are Stampy longhead, hulian and Maya, the axel show, and hobby kids tv). I got my Netflix binge watching on – Star Trek DS9. While watching, I always had some kind of craft going on.

I managed to get about 500 stitches done on my current cross stitch, Fire and Ice. It’s looking great, and now I only have one more page to go, or about 1400 stitches, more or less!

 when I get tired of seeing red and blue, I head for my yarn. I am working on a crochet shawl for myself. This will be the first crochet item I’ve made for myself in years. It’s called the Virus Shawl, and there are many free patterns for it on the internet. I’m using some fingering yarn I found at our local craft shop called Naipaul’s, and a size 3.25mm hook.

The other project I’m working on is a tatted doily. I’m using size 24 ecru thread, and it’s working up nicely. 

I planned to get some sewing done too, Peanut needs new clothes since he’s grown overnight again. The problem is our older son, a 21 year old that I’ll call “Night Gamer”. He desperately needs a new bed, and his room needs some renovations. Until we get his room done, he’s sleeping his days away on the living room couch. I’d love to pull out my sewing machine, but I don’t want to wake up Night Gamer. Until we get his room done my sewing machine is off limits to me. 

This week I’m hoping to get more cross stitching done, and with luck it might be finished by the end of next month!

Leave a Reply

