Birthday cake and root canal

It’s been a long, hard month. I’ve been dealing with so much, I feel like my head will explode! A couple of weeks ago, to add to the craziness, my tooth that my dentist filled in October decided that it needs a root canal, not just a filling! I started the process last Wednesday. The dentist removed part of the filling she put in, cleaned out the cavity, and packed the area with antibiotics. She put in a temporary plug, and this Wednesday she began the root canal. It turns out that I need extra anesthetic, and my canals are very fine, long, and very curved. She managed to get two canals cleaned, but the others are going to have to wait for two weeks since the anesthesia was wearing off, and another double dose wouldn’t be a good idea. I’m one of those “lucky” people that is allergic to codeine, so there will be very little pain relief after the root canal, Advil and Tylenol barely take the edge off.

I don’t honestly know how much homeschooling will get done this week – Peanut’s birthday was the day before my root canal, so we took it off. Yep, birthdays merit a holiday with us! I can hardly believe my little Peanut is 6! Where has the time gone? Although it was quiet, we did have a home made chocolate cake. He even got pizza yesterday! He spent most of the day doing his favorite thing – playing Minecraft!

Last week was our scheduled week off, and we did pretty much nothing and loved it! I had plans to pull out the sewing machine and make Peanut some t shirts, then do a deep clean of the bathroom, make pickles with the huge bag of cucumbers, and even get some more work done on the spare room. As they say, man plans, God laughs. The tooth pain was overwhelming, then after my first visit with the dentist the pain in my jaw laid me up for a few days. Plus I’m a bit anemic and hungry too – living off of soft foods like ramen and kraft dinner isn’t the best of diets. 

So this week I am going to try to cram three days of school into one, possibly two days. This will take a lot of coffee, a lot of green tea, a lot of chocolate, and a lot of deep breaths! Wish us luck, we need it!

 

Leave a Reply

