A lazy new year…

2017 came into being as I was sleeping. Yep, sleeping! Little Peanut was curled up beside me, and we were all cozy in our bed. In the back of my mind I heard the fireworks, but the chaos of the night left me too tired to really want to get out of my warm bed and see them. Hubby was at his sister’s house, and barely made it home in time to be with me for the clock to strike midnight. I woke up to his smile, and we sat out on the couch for a while as we chatted about everything and nothing.

Ironically, this has been the ebb and flow of the new year so far. A gentle tide of lazy days and nights, and me trying to ignore the loud chaos that seems to want to invade my life right now. Sometimes I need to let it in, but for the most part, I think I can say this new year has been calm.

We started back our schooling on January 2nd, and because of our break, Peanut was in no mood to learn. Taking a cue from him, I decided to ease up and make the first two weeks of the new year a review. I also changed our math program entirely, and we are now using Mathematical Reasoning Beginning 2, it’s a much better fit for Peanut right now. Plus it’s colorful pages are actually fun to look at and work with!

Hubby was off work for the first two weeks of the year, but after several doctor visits and a minor procedure, he’s up and running, well limping actually, again and back to work. I miss having him around all day. Retirement can’t come too soon.

I’ve been asked a few times about new year resolutions. I honestly didn’t make any. I still have past resolutions that haunt me, hahaha! Lose weight, eat better, learn new skills, give up bad habits, start up good habits, more exercise, less junk food, take up another hobby, go back to school and learn something new, and so on. I don’t need any new resolutions, I need to finally get my old resolutions off to a good start!

I do have a few goals that I’d like to start on this year though. I want to spend some time and train our dog a bit better, have him become a little more obedient and calm. I want to get our house in order, we have a spare room that could easily become a “man cave” for hubby or a bedroom for Peanut, but it needs cleaning and organizing. The house can use some paint, new curtains, and a few small renovations. I hope to clean and organize our bedroom (what I wouldn’t give for a proper bedroom closet!). I envision bookshelves with books, a toy box for Peanut’s toys, a large dresser to put all our clothes in. A wardrobe that fits all our hanging clothes. I also want a kitchen complete with countertops and cupboards. Hot water. A dishwasher! I know all this can’t be done in 1 year, but like my past resolutions, they will be ongoing and will get done when the time is right.

I think the ongoing theme for this year, continuing from the past few years, is gratefulness. I am so overwhelmingly grateful for my hubby. I can’t even begin to express what he has brought to my life. Then there are my children. 5 kids, and 3 step kids. I am blessed. I have also become closer to family and friends that I had lost touch with over the years, and I am so very grateful to have found my way back to them (or them to me).

So this coming year, I guess my “word” is grateful. But as always, the theme is “a joyful chaos”. And interwoven throughout is always going to be some coffee, some chocolate, some wine,maybe a few tears, and lots and lots of laughter.

Leave a Reply

