Just a little bit of this, a little bit of that…

I haven’t had the positive energy or excitement to post for a while. Maybe it’s the sadness of missing holidays of my childhood, or maybe it’s the time of year, or maybe it’s just me. I don’t know. I do know I feel a bit lost right now.

I went through the motions, trying to get into the spirit of the season, but it was no use. I baked the cookies, iced them, and Peanut probably ate 3 or 4 dozen of them!

Image may contain: food

I also tried an old technique to make some flowers on some cookies

Image may contain: food

and even a new technique to ‘improve’ the look

Image may contain: food

Peanut wanted something with ‘fireworks’ for New Years, so we made these:

Image may contain: food

They may look ugly, but Peanut loved them, and he really loved the taste. In the end, that’s what matters!

Oh, and accidents happened! :

Image may contain: food

It was just so hot and humid, plus the icing was not as thick as I usually make it, so it spelled disaster for a few cookies! They still tasted yummy though, and that’s what Peanut will remember.

I also dyed my hair, but I wanted something different! I bought a kit called Kiss in blue, and it came with the bleach and dye. I put the bleach in my hair for the maximum 1 hour, and I expected to have either orange or yellow looking hair when it washed out. To my horror, it was still black! It seems that sometimes this bleach only helps to open the hair and prepares it for the dye. Okay, so I went ahead and slathered my hair with the electric blue dye. I had visions of wonderful blue/purple locks shining in the sun… well it was not to be! This is what I ended up with:

Image may contain: one or more people

Yep, only the grey hair took the color. I was a bit miffed, so I ran outside and hoped that the sunshine would show a blue purple sheen that the house lights were hiding:

Image may contain: one or more people

Nope, my blue/purple peacock hair is a dud! I still have 1 more box of the stuff, it was a BOGO free deal. I may wait for my silvery white roots to grow a bit and use the 2nd kit, but I need to find a place here on the island that sells Manic Panic. It seemed to be the only brand that my hair liked! In the meantime, I may put my hair back into rope braids, rock my Rasta white woman look again for a while.

Leave a Reply

