Our not so relaxing week off homeschooling…

This week has been very hectic and tiring. Yes, it’s our week off from homeschool for the month, meant for rest, relaxation, and getting caught up on other things like sewing, tatting, crochet, and maybe a bit of housework too!

Last Sunday saw us buying a new washing machine since our old one decided it didn’t want to drain water anymore. The process of buying it was easy until we had to deal with the saleswoman. Oh gosh, how some people manage to even get out of bed and dressed in the morning is beyond me. I swear she was not the brightest crayon in the box. If we didn’t need the washing machine so desperately, we would have said “never mind” and went somewhere else to buy it. I’m a patient person, and so is Hubby, but we were both beyond frustrated with the service we received. By the time all the paperwork was done, so were we! I never wanted a stiff drink as much as right then.

By Wednesday, Hubby had begun to work overtime. And of course that’s when the washing machine was delivered. Thankfully he was still in the area when it came, so he was able to help the deliveryman carry it to our front porch. As soon as it was checked over, Hubby was off again to deal with some emergency for work.

Thursday brought with it more overtime for Hubby, he worked from 6:30 am to 5 am Friday morning, then had to work again at 7am. He was running on fumes. I was missing him so much. Peanut missed him too. Friday night he came home and pretty much slept till this morning. And guess what? Yep, he’s working overtime again today. His day off, and he was gone before I awoke.

Have I mentioned how much I love him? I am in awe of everything he does. Hubby is so hard working, and he never complains. I would probably be in tears at this point, throwing a tantrum and praying someone sends me to my room for a time out! I’d probably jump into bed and sleep for a week!

Because of this crazy week, Peanut has been a bit lost. He misses his daddy, and he has been a bit subdued. I guess I have too. I know there are things I planned to do this week, things like getting started on making Christmas gifts, getting some sewing done, and deep cleaning a few parts of the house. I just haven’t had it in me. I probably will get the sewing machine out today and sew a few t-shirts for Peanut, he’s grown again and the size 3 clothes I try to squish him into just doesn’t cut it when you’re almost 6 and very tall!  But the rest, well, that can wait. I still haven’t even been to the craft store to get the yarn for what I wanted to make for gifts.

Tomorrow is the kids Christmas party thrown by Hubby’s work. We are looking forward to a few hours spent eating junk food, playing on bouncy castles, and gifts from Santa.Let’s hope it doesn’t rain! Last year Santa gave Peanut a cool wooden letter set from Melissa and Doug! We’ve been using it a lot for homeschooling, and it’s fun!

Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. Man plans, God laughs.

 

Leave a Reply

