Welcome to my world

My 5 year old is still asleep as I sit here, coffee steaming. Welcome to my world. It’s messy, fun, creative, loving, and silly. It’s sometimes serious, heartbreaking, but the smiles and laughter are always not too far away, just like the sun always rises, happiness always finds a way to shine.

I am turning 50 this year. A half century old. Where has the time gone? Well, I’m the wife of an amazing man. He cooks the most amazing curry dishes, and does a wicked oil-down with breadfruit. He works hard, very hard. He is my rock, my shelter in the storm, my reason for waking up in the morning.

I’m also the mom of five children and 3 step-children. The kids range in age from 26 all the way down to 5. Our youngest child has a form of autism called PDD-NOS. My days are spent homeschooling him because we live on an island that has no public schools for special needs kids. There are a few private schools, they charge upwards of $8000 a year (in US dollars) for tuition and they don’t have any special education teachers on staff. These private schools basically just babysit.

In the quiet moments, I like to let my creativity out. I love to bake and decorate cookies. I   do tatting, cross stitch, sew, knit, and crochet. I am an artsy/craftsy type person, and creativity is like breathing to me. I need it!

My favorite place in the world, outside of my husbands arms, is the beach. I love the rhythm of the waves, the feel of the water lapping on my toes, the warm sand under my feet. Something about being on the edge of the water, feeling so small, so connected with the possibilities of history and future, who was here before me? Who will walk this sand in the centuries to come? What ships sailed by, possibly pulled up anchor here centuries ago, or will in years to come? What of those people and their lives, their hopes, their dreams? Yep, I guess I sometimes feel the connection to life when I have sand between my toes, water lapping on my skin, and wind playing in my hair.

Before my son wakes up, I’m going to go grab another coffee, center myself, and get ready for the day.

Leave a Reply

